Regions

Junior Academy students are divided into regions throughout the state according to the following:

2022 MJAS Regional Map

Regional Competitions Dates

Please note that if no competition is being held in your region that you may compete in other regions (you should reach out to the regional director of the region in which you would like to compete). Please note all “in person” meetings are subject to change to a hybrid or virtual format.

  • Kansas City Region: TBD
  • Mastodon Region: March 18th-27th, 2022 @ Mastodon Art/Science Regional Fair
  • Northeast Region: March 8th, 2022 @ Central Methodist University
  • Northwest Region: March 11th, 2022 @ Missouri Western State University
  • Ozark Region: March 22nd, 2022 @ Missouri State University
  • Southeast Region: TBD @ Southeast Missouri State University
  • Southwest Region: March 29th, 2022 @ Missouri Southern State University
  • St. Louis Region: April 2nd, 2022 @ Holt High School

Region Directors

Kansas City Region

Dr. Michelle Allen
Northwest Missouri State University
mallen@nwmissouri.edu

Mastodon Region

Ms. Samantha DeClue
314-529-1329
director@mastodonfair.org
http://www.mastodonfair.org/

Northeast Region

Dr. James “Tiger” Gordon
Central Methodist University
Fayette, MO 65248
jgordon@centralmethodist.edu

Dr. Greg Thurmon
Central Methodist University
Fayette, MO 65248

Northwest Region

Dr. Csengele Barta
Missouri Western State University
St. Joseph, 64507
cbarta1@missouriwestern.edu

Ozark Region

Mr. Dylan Welker
Missouri State University
DylanWelker@MissouriState.edu

Southeast Region

Dr. Julie Weathers
Southeast Missouri State University
Cape Girardeau, 63701
jweathers@semo.edu

Southwest Region

Dr. Teresa R Boman
Missouri Southern State University
Joplin, MO 64801
Boman-T@mssu.edu

Dr. Mary (Katie) Kilmer
Missouri Southern State University
Joplin, MO 64801
417-625-3564
kilmer-m@mssu.edu

St. Louis Region

Ms. Jennifer Hess
Holt High School
jenniferhess@wsdr4.org