Regions

Junior Academy students are divided into districts throughout the state according to the following:

2021 MJAS Regional Map

Regional Competitions dates

Please note that counties assigned to the historical region 5, Central (disbanded as of Spring 2020) have been redistributed. If you historically competed in region 5, please reference the region map to determine where your county will now compete. Please note that if no competition is being held in your region that you may compete in other regions (you should request approval).

  • Kansas City Region: TBD
  • Mastodon Region: March 15-19 @ hosted virtually by Mastodon Art/Science Regional Fair
  • Northeast Region: March 9th, 2021 @ hosted virtually by Central Methodist University
  • Northwest Region: TBD
  • Ozark Region: March 26th, 2021 @ Missouri State University
  • Southeast Region: March 2nd, 2021 @ Southeast Missouri State University
  • Southwest Region: March 30th, 2021 @ Missouri Southern State University
  • St. Louis Region: March 27th, 2021 @ Holt High School

Region Directors

Kansas City Region

Dr. Michelle Allen
Northwest Missouri State University
mallen@nwmissouri.edu

Mastadon Region

Ms. Samantha DeClue
314-529-1329
director@mastodonfair.org
http://www.mastodonfair.org/

Northeast Region

Dr. James “Tiger” Gordon
Central Methodist University
Fayette, MO 65248
jgordon@centralmethodist.edu

Northwest Region

Dr. Csengele Barta
Missouri Western State University
St. Joseph, 64507
cbarta1@missouriwestern.edu

Ozark Region

Mr. Dylan Welker
Missouri State University
DylanWelker@MissouriState.edu

Southeast Region

Dr. Julie Weathers
Southeast Missouri State University
Cape Girardeau, 63701
jweathers@semo.edu

Dr. Greg Thurmon
Central Methodist University
Fayette, MO 65248

Southwest Region

Dr. Teresa R Boman
Missouri Southern State University
Joplin, MO 64801
Boman-T@mssu.edu

Dr. Mary (Katie) Kilmer
Department of Biology and Environmental Health and Safety
Missouri Southern State University
Joplin, MO 64801
417-625-3564
kilmer-m@mssu.edu

St. Louis Region

Jennifer Hess
Holt High School
jenniferhess@wsdr4.org